Virginia Strength

training for rugby champions

1/25: Swellin’ Solo

A word on programming:

Programs are great.  Following a well designed program will make sure that you are constantly progressing and that your bases are covered.

Sometimes, however, you just have to listen to your body.  Often, you can make adjustments within the framework of your program.  If you’re having a crappy day and feeling beat up or if you’re feeling great and someone turned off the gravity–your program should allow you to adjust accordingly.

The VRFC Power Program has this sort of flexibility.  If you feel like there are magnets in the gym floor on a particular day, you can just get the minimum reps on your last set and leave.  You could even repeat the weight you did the previous time and only get the minimum reps.  No big deal.  If you feel great–push the last set.  Heck, you could even take a little bit bigger jump than normal if you’ve been feeling awesome for a couple workouts in a row.

Front Squat 225 x 5, 275 x 5, 315 x 2, 365 x 1

Deadlift 465 x 5 (I didn’t feel like doing the inevitable 10-12 reps that a set at this weight would result in.  So, I didn’t belt up and used a normal grip and just got the prescribed reps.  I still met the days goals and I’m still moving forward in my program, but I listened to my body and adjusted accordingly.  I make these adjustments all of the time, but I felt it would be helpful to point it out occasionally.)

One response to “1/25: Swellin’ Solo

  1. jasonoftheargonauts 01/27/2012 at 2:44 pm

    1/26
    Front Squat 275 x 3
    DL 445 x 7

Leave a comment